IBEW Convention recap

The 39th International Convention of the IBEW was attended September 19-23, 2016 in St. Louis, Missouri by the delegates you elected in the last elections.

Lonnie R. Stephenson was elected International President. Salvatore J. Chilia was elected International Secretary-Treasurer. Christopher Erikson was elected International Executive Council Chairman. Joseph P. Calabro was elected to the Executive Council First District. Donald C. Siegel was elected International Vice President Third District.52 resolutions were voted on. One grievance appeal was voted on. 12 Laws of the IBEW were voted on. Reports of the International Officers were heard.
The delegates were also able to visit the Henry Miller Museum, which is the boarding house Henry Miller lived in when founding the IBEW. It was a very special honor to be where our great union was founded.
Local Union 1 IBEW and the Eleventh District were exceptional hosts for the convention delegates. Speakers at the convention included Missouri Governor Jay Nixon, Secretary-Treasurer Emeritus Jerry O'Conner, International President Emeritus Edwin D. Hill, AFL-CIO Secretary Treasurer Liz Schuler, AFL-CIO President Richard Trumpka, former Iowa Senator Tom Harkin, and Governor of Hawaii Neil Abercrombie.
It was a good convention, a lot of work and business was accomplished. However, on a more somber note, a total of six IBEW members passed away at their jobs during the convention. Due to falls, electrocution, work place violence and auto accidents. A reminder of the work we all have to do to keep each other safe.